Our People

Simon Cowell

Simon Cowell is an A&R executive, producer and star of the highest rated television shows in the world.

Simon has been patron of the Katie Piper Foundation since the charity was set up in 2010, and he is delighted to help raise funds and awareness of the work that Katie and the Foundation does to improve the lives of people living with burns and scars.

Simon McCabe

Simon is a qualified Surveyor with over 12 years’ experience in the Property Industry. He heads up the Property Development and Investment Portfolio for Scarborough Group International Limited, throughout the UK. Simon is also a Director of Sheffield United Football Club where he has been instrumental in raising club sponsorship and he sits on the Football Executive Board.

As a keen charity supporter, Simon has partaken in numerous marathons to raise money for charities including The Sheffield Children’s Hospital and Whizz Kidz.

Kayvan Shokrollahi
Trustee & Chair

Kayvan Shokrollahi is a Consultant Plastic Surgeon at the Merseyside Centre for Burns and Plastic Surgery. His main interests are in burns, lasers and general plastic surgery. He has a strong academic interest having undertaken degrees in molecular pathology, engineering and law and he was awarded a Hunterian Professorship of the Royal College of Surgeons of England in 2007. He has published over 60 articles in the scientific literature and he is Associate Editor of the Journal Annals of Plastic Surgery.

He has written a number of textbooks including the Oxford Handbook on Burns, The International Flap Manual, and Multiple Choice Questions in Plastic Surgery. He has ten years of laser experience having developed an interest in the carbon dioxide laser. He was instrumental in setting up the UK national interface laser fellowship programme.

Outside of medicine he plays handball for Liverpool and he is a pianist-composer with radio performances of his original music played weekly on Classic FM in Europe. He also exhibits his art work.

Andrew Foxcroft
Andrew Foxcroft
Trustee & Vice Chair

Andrew is a senior business leader in the IT sector. His extensive experience of developing businesses and entering new markets is based upon a consultative and listening approach, resulting in strong trusting relationships. Currently Andrew is a Global Vice President for one of the fastest growing IT security companies in the world.

Outside of work, Andrew regularly participates in Triathlons and enjoys spending quality time with his family in Berkshire.

Simon Oakes
Trustee & Treasurer

Simon has enjoyed a long and successful career in Central Government, including senior roles in the Inland Revenue, Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs and a lengthly secondment to the Citizens Advice Bureaux. As well as UK tax and its administration, his experience and areas of expertise also cover complaints handling & redress, high level issues of Governance and how the voluntary sector and Government work together.

Nicola Murphy
Nicola Murphy

Nicki is a marketing professional and media agency Chief Executive. She is a member of the Marketing Society, the Chartered Institute of Marketing, FIPP and the PPA.

A traditionally trained marketer and having begun her career at Procter & Gamble where she served in both the sales and marketing functions for six years, Nicola moved into publishing, and latterly founded The River Group, aged 29, a content marketing agency specialising in print and digital content, in 1994.

Kim Newman-Wood

Kim is a senior HR professional with extensive knowledge and experience in the European and International HR arenas. She currently heads up HR consultancy HR Dynamics which specialises in providing full hands on and strategic support to small and growing businesses in a European or International arena. Specialise in mergers and acquisitions and new country development.

Previous roles include Vice President of International HR for the Services Division of Lucent Technologies, HR Director – Europe for INS, Senior Director of European HR for ClinTrials Research Ltd and Director of HR for Europe for VMX and Octel.

Dr Tim Woodman

Tim worked as an NHS GP and Medical Director for more than 20 years and is now part of the UK Customer Medical Director team at Bupa, responsible for ensuring that the company only funds evidence-based treatment. He has a long track record of successful service redesign and commissioning – and is looking forward to applying these skills as the Foundation moves care for burns survivors to new levels of excellence. Tim is also a Trustee of the Hospital of Sir John Hawkins, Chatham.

Louise McMichael
Skin Camouflage Advisor

Louise McMichael is an independent professionally trained camouflage practitioner at Panacea Skin. She has published in the British Medical journal and has demonstrated through research and practices that “Skin camouflage can play an important part in improving wellbeing for patients with permanent or chronic skin problems”.

Louise also works as an independent business development consultant in the pharmaceutical and device industry and has a particular interest in dermatology, burns and related products including the evaluation of new camouflage products coming into the market place.

Andrew Thompson
Andrew Thompson
Psychological Advisor

Dr Thompson is Reader in Clinical Psychology at the University of Sheffield and NHS Clinical Psychology Training Programme. He is registered as both a Clinical and Health Psychologist and practices in the NHS, where he provides a Clinical Health Psychology Service for people adjusting to long-term health conditions. His research expertise focuses on exploring psychological reactions to disfiguring conditions with a view to developing psychosocial interventions.

RuthAnn Fanstone
Clinical Scar Advisor

RuthAnn is a physiotherapist who specialises in burns and plastic surgery. She has extensive clinical, teaching and managerial experience of working in burns within the NHS, the charity sector and internationally.

Katie Piper
Founder & Trustee

Katie founded the Katie Piper Foundation in December 2009 following her experience as a patient. She works closely with the charity’s staff and volunteers and is also a mentor to many burns survivors.

Outside of her work with the Foundation, Katie continues to work with Channel 4 and is a best-selling author.